ME-5300 - the New Generation of TTL-Digital-I/O

ME-5300 digital-I/O

Benefits of the Meilhaus Electronic ME-5300 Digital Interface Board Series

  • Two proven, reliable board families in a new design!
  • Up to 128 TTL digital channels, up to 15x 16 bit counters.
  • Versions with pullup/pulldown resistances.

ME-5300 - the New Generation of TTL Digital-I/O

The ME-5300 is a TTL digital I/O board series. It replaces several models of previous ME board families ME-1000, ME-1400, and ME-5100. A modernized, improved architecture with the latest FPGA is used as well as the current bus platforms PCI-Express (PCIe) and PXI-Express (PXIe). The cards are fully compatible with the previous models in terms of connector pin assignment, functionality and software. Depending on the configuration with pullup/pulldown resistors1) and the corresponding firmware, the ME-5300 transforms into the following models:

Model Overview

Note: Find the standard product versions in the "variant" drop-down of our web-shop. Other models are coming soon or are available on request if higher numbers are required - this is a list of all the models, that can be built:

Model TTL digital-I/O Counters Bus platform Replaces Pull-up Pull-down
▸ME 5310-Series
ME-5310 4x 32 bit ports:
128 digital-I/O lines, 64 of them on 78-pin D-sub female, other 64 on an on-board pinfield
- PCIe, PXIe ME-1000/641) - -
ME-5310-1 - DIO A, DIO B -
ME-5310-2 - - DIO A, DIO B
ME-5310-3 - DIO B DIO A
ME-5310(-x) + ME-1001 Connects the on-board 64 digital-I/O lines from the pinfield to an additional 78-pin D-sub female with slot bracket - PCIe, PXIe ME-1000/1282) on base board only, see above on base board only, see above
▸ME-5314 Series
ME-5314A 24 3, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400A1) Gate DIO, Clk
ME-5314A-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314A-2 - Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314A-3 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314A-4 - DIO Clk, Gate
ME-5314B 48 6, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400B1) Gate DIO, Clk
ME-5314B-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314B-2 - Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314B-3 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314B-4 - DIO Clk, Gate
ME-5314C 24 15, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400C1) Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314C-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314C-2 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314C-3 - DIO Clk, Gate
  1. As a standard, the pullup/pulldown resistors are configured so that the boards are compatilbe with the previous versions.
  2. The ME-5310 can be expanded to up to 128 digital channels using the ME-1001. Using the ME-5310 without pullup/pulldown as the base board you get full compatibility with the ME-1000/128. For the additional channels of the ME-1001 pullup/pulldown is not provided.

Frequently asked questions:

Question: What are TTL digital I/O channels used for?

Answer: Digital channels are used to output/write or input/read binary/logic signals. In the simplest case the signal level is TTL/CMOS - the signals are led directly (e.g. without galvanic isolation by optocouplers) from the components to the connector. Binary/logic signal means that these signals take only two logical states 0/1, Low/High, for example 0 V/5 V.

Question: What is a port?

Answer: For digital I/O boards, a port is the group of a certain number of digital lines (8 bit port, 16 bit port, e.g. as a bit pattern). In contrast to opto-isolated channels, where the opto-couplers define the signal direction, TTL channels are mostly bidirectional lines, which can be configured as inputs or outputs. In many DAQ boards/modules this configuration is done port-wise, i.e. an entire port group of e.g. 8 channels is used as input. One of the best known digital components for this kind of I/O (PIO - Parallel Input Ouput) is the Intel 8255, which works with the port concept. In contrast to this, with discrete lines, all individual channels can be configured individually for themselves as input or output.

Question: What is a counter used for?

Answer: A counter/timer is a classic digital component (e.g. Intel 8253, 82C54). Programmable counters/timers usually offer different modes of operation. A standard mode is e.g. counting down from the start value (65535 at 16 bit) to 0, timer interrupt and counting again. The counter component receives a clock as basis (e.g. independent from the clock of the PC from a quartz oscillator). Optimally all counter signals are available at the connector (clock, gate/enable/disable counting, out), so that cascading or using an external clock is possible.

Question: Why do I need the pullup/pulldown resistors on the ME-5300 series?

Answer: In order to achieve a certain defined power-on-state of the I/O lines, the different ME-5300 variants are available in different assembly configurations with pullup and/or pulldown resistors. Pullup and pulldown are relatively high impedance resistors. They connect the signal lines to the higher or lower voltage potential. Thus, the lines are brought to the higher/lower potential if no output actively brings the line to a higher/lower potential.

Question: What is included with the Meilhaus Electronic measuring cards?

Answer: The scope of delivery of each card includes a mating connector, so that individual connection cables can be soldered with simple means (e.g. if a card has a 78-pin D-sub female connector, a 78-pin D-sub male connector is included). Of course, ready-to-use, optional accessories are available for most standard cases, such as connector cables and terminal blocks/boards. The driver software ME-iDS (incl. Control-Center, SDK and ME-PowerLab3) as well as detailed manuals (English and German) for the DAQ board and the software are available via download.

ME-5300 - die neue Generation der TTL-Digital-I/O

ME-5300 Digital-I/O

Vorteile der Meilhaus Electronic ME-5300 Digital-Interface-Karten-Serie

  • Zwei bewährte Karten-Familien in neuem Design!
  • Bis zu 128 TTL-Digital-Kanäle, bis zu 15x 16-bit-Zähler.
  • Varianten mit Pullup-/Pulldown-Widerständen.

ME-5300 - die neue Generation der TTL-Digital-I/O

Die ME-5300 ist eine TTL Digital-I/O-Karten-Serie. Sie ersetzt mehrere Modelle bisheriger ME-Karten-Familien ME-1000, ME-1400 und ME-5100. Dabei kommt eine modernisierte, verbesserte Architektur mit neustem FPGA zum Einsatz sowie die aktuellen Bus-Plattformen PCI-Express (PCIe) und PXI-Express (PXIe). Die Karten sind zu den Vorgänger-Modellen voll kompatibel in Anschlussbelegung, Funktionalität und Software. Je nach Bestückung mit Pullup-/Pulldown-Widerständen1) und der entsprechenden Firmware verwandelt sich die ME-5300 in die folgenden Modellen:

Modell-Übersicht

Hinweis: Die als Standard-Produkte erhältlichen Varianten finden Sie im "Ausführungen"-Dropdownim Web-Shop. Weitere Modelle sind in Vorbereitung oder auf Anfrage ab höheren Stückzahlen erhältlich - hier eine Liste der möglichen Varianten:

Modell TTL-Digital-I/O Zähler Bus-Plattform ersetzt Pull-up Pull-down
▸ME-5310-Serie
ME-5310 4x 32 bit Ports:
128 Digital-I/O-Leitungen, davon 64 auf 78-polige Sub-D-Buchse geführt, weitere 64 auf einem Pinfeld auf der Karte
- PCIe, PXIe ME-1000/641) - -
ME-5310-1 - DIO A, DIO B -
ME-5310-2 - - DIO A, DIO B
ME-5310-3 - DIO B DIO A
ME-5310(-x) + ME-1001 Führt die 64 Digital-I/O-Leitungen auf dem Pinfeld auf der Karte zu einer weiteren 78-poligen Sub-D-Buchse mit Slotblech - PCIe, PXIe ME-1000/1282) nur auf Basis-Karte, s.o. nur auf Basis-Karte s.o.
▸ME-5314-Serie
ME-5314A 24 3, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400A1) Gate DIO, Clk
ME-5314A-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314A-2 - Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314A-3 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314A-4 - DIO Clk, Gate
ME-5314B 48 6, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400B1) Gate DIO, Clk
ME-5314B-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314B-2 - Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314B-3 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314B-4 - DIO Clk, Gate
ME-5314C 24 15, 16 bit PCIe, PXIe ME-1400C1) Clk, Gate DIO
ME-5314C-1 - DIO, Clk, Gate -
ME-5314C-2 - - DIO, Clk, Gate
ME-5314C-3 - DIO Clk, Gate
  1. Standardmäßig sind die Pullup-/Pulldown-Widerstände so bestückt, dass die Karten zu den Vorgänger-Varianten kompatibel sind.
  2. Die ME-5310 kann mit der ME-1001 auf insgesamt 128 Digital-I/O-Kanäle erweitert werden. Mit der ME-5310 ohne Pullup/Pulldown als Basis-Karte erhalten Sie Kompatibilität zur ME-1000/128. Für die zusätzlichen Kanäle der ME-1001 ist keine Bestückung mit Pullup/Pulldown-Widerständen vorgesehen.

Häufig gestellte Fragen:

Frage: Für was verwendet man TTL-Digital-I/O-Kanäle?

Antwort: Digital-Kanäle werden verwendet, um Binär-/Logik-Signale auszugeben oder einzulesen. Im einfachsten Fall ist der Signal-Pegel TTL/CMOS - die Signale werden direkt (also z.B. ohne galvanische Trennung durch Optokoppler) von den Bauteilen zum Verbinder geführt. Binär-/Logik-Signal bedeutet, dass diese Signale nur zwei logische Zustände 0/1, Low/High annehmen, zum Beispiel 0 V/5 V.

Frage: Was ist ein Port?

Antwort: Ein Port ist bei den Digital-I/O-Karten die Zusammenfassung einer bestimmten Anzahl von Digital-Leitungen (8-bit-Port, 16-bit-Port, z.B. als Bitmuster). Im Gegensatz zu opto-isolierten Kanälen, bei denen die Opto-Koppler die Signal-Richtung festlegen, sind TTL-Kanäle meistens bidirektionale Leitungen, die als Eingänge oder Ausgänge umgeschaltet werden können. Bei vielen Messkarten/Modulen erfolgt diese Umschaltung port-weise, d.h. eine gesamte Port-Gruppe von z.B. 8 Kanälen wird als Eingang verwendet. Einer der bekanntesten Digital-Bausteine für diese Art der I/O (PIO - Parallel Input Ouput) ist der Intel 8255, der mit dem Port-Prinzip arbeitet. Im Gegensatz dazu sind bei diskreten Leitungen alle einzelnen Kanäle individuell für sich als Eingang oder Ausgang konfigurierbar.

Frage: Für was verwendet man einen Zähler?

Antwort: Ein Zähler/Zeitgeber ist ein klassisches Bauelement der Digitaltechnik (z.B. Intel 8253, 82C54). Programmierbare Zähler/Zeitgeber bieten meistens verschiedene Betriebsarten. Ein Standard-Modus ist dabei z.B. das Herunterzählen vom Startwert (65535 bei 16 bit) auf 0, Timer-Interrupt und erneutes Zählen. Der Zähler-Baustein erhält als Basis einen Takt (z.B. vom Takt des PCs unabhängig von einem Quarz-Oszillator). Optimalerweise stehen alle Zähler-Signale am Verbinder zur Verfügung (Clock/Takt, Gate/Gatter/Zählen aktivieren/deaktivieren, Out/Ausgang), so dass eine Kaskadierung oder die Verwendung eines externen Taktes möglich ist.

Frage: Für was benötigt man die Pullup-/Pulldown-Widerstände auf der ME-5300-Serie?

Antwort: Um einen bestimmten, definierten Einschaltzustand der I/O-Leitungen zu erreichen, sind die verschiedenen ME-5300-Varianten in verschiedenen Bestückungs-Konfigurationen mit Pullup- und/oder Pulldown-Widerständen verfügbar. Pullup und Pulldown sind relativ hochohmige Widerstände. Sie verbinden die Signalleitungen mit dem höheren oder niedrigeren Spannungs-Potential. So werden die Leitungen auf das höhere/niedrigere Potential gebracht, falls kein Ausgang die Leitung aktiv auf ein höheres/niedrigeres Potential bringt.

Frage: Was ist im Lieferumfang der Meilhaus Electronic Messkarten?

Antwort: Im Lieferumfang jeder Karte ist ein passender Gegenstecker enthalten, so dass mit einfachen Mitteln selbst individuelle Anschlusskabel gelötete werden können (hat eine Karte z.B. eine 78-polige Sub-D Buchse, so ist ein 78-poliger Sub-D-Stecker dabei). Natürlich ist für die meisten Standard-Fälle optional sofort einsetzbares, fertiges Zubehör erhältlich, wie z.B. Anschluss-Kabel und Anschlussblöcke ("Terminal-Karten"). Die Treiber-Software ME-iDS (inkl. Control-Center, SDK und ME-PowerLab3) sowie ausführliche Handbücher (deutsch und englisch) zur Messkarte und zur Software stehen als Download zur Verfügung.